En Afrique, le tapis d'accueil est mis à la disposition des voyageurs ayant des besoins spéciaux.

Le tourisme accessible est l'un des secteurs du voyage dont la croissance est la plus rapide, selon ceux qui sont bien informés.

Les chiffres des Nations Unies montrent qu'il y a dans le monde plus d'un milliard de personnes handicapées et plus de 2 milliards de personnes directement touchées par le handicap, comme les conjoints et les aidants naturels. Un grand pourcentage de ces personnes sont prêtes à voyager, selon la recherche.

Servir ce marché en pleine croissance présente des défis pour l'industrie du tourisme, mais il existe aussi un grand potentiel pour fournir un service aux personnes handicapées, selon les voyagistes aux États-Unis et en Afrique, qui disent tous que l'Afrique a été très en demande.

"Nous avons certainement constaté une augmentation de la demande des personnes handicapées pour voyager en Afrique ", a déclaré Dave van Smeerdijk, l'un des cofondateurs de Natural Selection, qui explique que de plus en plus de régions éloignées sont devenues accessibles et que les limites des possibilités s'étendent donc.

"L'Afrique est sur l'écran radar de tout le monde. Pourquoi les personnes handicapées devraient-elles être différentes ? a déclaré Betty Jo Currie, Currie & Co. Travels Unlimited, membre de Safari Pros. Jim Holden de Holden Safaris a ajouté qu'avec le vieillissement de la population des baby-boomers, les voyagistes reçoivent inévitablement plus de demandes des clients handicapés.

Une société basée au Cap, Southern Africa 360, a conçu cette année un certain nombre d'itinéraires pour répondre spécifiquement aux besoins spécifiques du marché. Collin Thaver d'Afrique australe 360 a dit que la demande a toujours été là, mais la compagnie a vu une occasion d'identifier les fournisseurs de services et les endroits appropriés pour les forfaits vacances.

According to Craig Beal, owner of TravelBeyond, one of the biggest reasons why more people with disabilities consider Africa is that many people who once had unfounded fears of Africa now have many friends and family members who have been on safari. “They now consider what was once impossible to be possible,” he said.

Beal a dit qu'il a reçu deux demandes de renseignements cette année pour des voyages à mobilité réduite. "J'ai actuellement un client qui voyage en Tanzanie et au Kenya avec une marchette et une canne. Je travaille sur un voyage pour août 2019 pour un client avec un scooter léger. Les deux clients avaient des inquiétudes initiales au sujet de l'entrée et de la sortie des véhicules de safari ainsi que du moment et de la façon d'uriner en observant les animaux sur le Land Rover/Land Cruiser."

De plus, Currie a dit qu'il y a encore des obstacles importants à considérer pour les personnes handicapées en safari car de nombreuses limitations existent encore. Elle reconnaît qu'il peut être difficile pour les gens d'entrer et de sortir des Land Rovers, par exemple, mais elle souligne que le guide est là pour aider à s'assurer que cela est facile à gérer.

M. Currie a ajouté : "L'accès aux soins médicaux peut également être plus limité, de sorte qu'il faut planifier en cas d'imprévu. Et il y a plusieurs vols en règle générale avec des avions plus petits, qui sont particulièrement difficiles pour les personnes handicapées. Mais le résultat en vaut la peine."

Cependant, Holden a insisté sur le fait que l'Afrique pose en fait très peu de défis pour les personnes handicapées, car tout le monde dans le monde du safari est désireux et disposé à rendre l'accès facile pour tous. Holden a cité l'exemple d'un client lors d'une expédition de suivi des gorilles au Rwanda qui a dû être transporté sur une civière pour voir les gorilles. Holden a dit : "Les brancardiers ont joyeusement porté le client en chantant et en riant jusqu'au bout ! A aucun moment le client ne s'est senti un fardeau ou différent d'un autre client en safari. Les gens en Afrique ont une si belle attitude face à la vie, résumée dans cette phrase afrikaans bien connue, "n boer maak n plan" ou plus communément en anglais, "Where there's a will, there's a way !".

Le conseil le plus important à donner aux agents de voyages qui réservent des voyages pour des clients ayant une déficience est d'obtenir une description et une compréhension complètes du handicap de la personne, selon M. Holden. Il a dit : "Ce sont souvent des questions délicates et personnelles que les agents hésitent à poser à leurs clients, mais il est important que l'opérateur du safari comprenne bien l'étendue du handicap du client, afin de fournir les commodités nécessaires.

En outre, M. Holden a déclaré que les opérateurs de safari doivent être informés des médicaments et des exigences alimentaires de tous les clients, mais en particulier ceux qui ont un handicap. Et d'ajouter : "Et aussi évident que cela puisse paraître, l'assurance voyage est vitale, car elle comprendra une évacuation d'urgence et une couverture médicale adéquate".

Beal a conseillé aux agents de voyages de poser des questions très précises à leur voyagiste sur le nombre de marches à suivre pour entrer dans les tentes/suites de safari, la distance entre les aires communes et la tente/suite et les véhicules en service. Il a dit : "Le client veut aussi savoir si les chemins autour du lodge sont plats, en planches, en pierre, en herbe, en sable, etc. Le client doit être conscient des surfaces de marche."

Thaver a également suggéré que les agents de voyage regardent au-delà de l'expérience du safari lorsqu'ils envisagent l'Afrique. Il a dit : "La plus grande idée fausse est que l'Afrique, dans son ensemble, n'a que des safaris à offrir à ses hôtes. C'est dommage parce que, comme d'autres destinations de voyage populaires, la région est multiforme et donc capable de répondre à une grande variété d'intérêts et de budgets."

Bien que les voyages en Afrique soient devenus beaucoup plus accessibles, on peut faire encore plus. Beal a expliqué qu'il aimerait voir les lodges haut de gamme à travers l'Afrique avoir au moins une chambre ou une tente avec le type de commodités d'un hôtel aux États-Unis qui peut accueillir des clients handicapés. Avoir au moins un véhicule de safari par camp pouvant accueillir des personnes à mobilité réduite serait une bonne chose.

Malgré tous les obstacles possibles, les voyagistes ont convenu que l'Afrique est une destination merveilleuse pour tout le monde.

Frank Louw, directeur général de la Singita Serengeti House, a dit : "Tout le monde devrait pouvoir faire l'expérience de la vie de la même manière, et si vous pouvez faire en sorte que cela se produise pour tous, alors c'est merveilleux. Il devient de plus en plus facile pour les personnes ayant une déficience de voyager. L'infrastructure en Afrique a parcouru un long chemin, et les invités savent qu'ils peuvent se rendre de A à B beaucoup plus facilement qu'auparavant."

Currie est d'accord et souligne que la beauté d'un safari fait aussi partie de ses limites. Elle a dit : "Ce n'est pas une destination facile pour les personnes handicapées ; cependant, le résultat final en vaut habituellement la peine, nous devrions encourager les personnes handicapées à y aller. Il est de notre responsabilité d'avoir des réponses pour ces clients en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec nos fournisseurs, hôteliers et guides."

M. Holden a ajouté : " Le safari est une activité tellement relaxante et rafraîchissante pour tout le monde que les promotions de safaris doivent inclure des références aux personnes handicapées et expliquer comment la plupart des activités de safaris sont accessibles aux clients handicapés. Le meilleur tonique pour quiconque est de respirer l'air pur et enivrant de l'Afrique tout en observant tranquillement la faune et la flore de l'Afrique accomplir son rituel quotidien."

 

Author: Dorine Reinstein
Published: 30 August 2018
View article source here.


Discover more travel news:

Actualités voyage

 

Jenman African Safaris Collection

PayGate-Card-Brand-Logos

Special Needs Travellers

/
/
Special Needs Travellers

United Nations figures show that globally there are over 1 billion people with disabilities as well as more than 2 billion people directly affected by disability, such as spouses and caregivers. A great percentage of these people are keen to travel, the research shows.

Serving this growing market presents challenges for the tourism industry, but there’s also great potential to provide a service for those with disabilities, according to tour operators in the U.S. and Africa, who all say Africa has been in high demand.

“We’ve definitely seen an increase in demand from people with disabilities for travel into Africa,” said Dave van Smeerdijk, one of the co-founders of Natural Selection, who explains that more and more remote areas have become accessible and therefore the boundaries of possibilities are expanding.

“Africa is on everyone’s radar screen. Why should people with disabilities be any different?” said Betty Jo Currie, Currie & Co. Travels Unlimited, a Safari Pros member. Holden Safaris’ Jim Holden added that as the baby boomer demographic ages, inevitably tour operators receive more requests from clients with disabilities.

A Cape Town-based company, Southern Africa 360, has this year devised a number of itineraries to cater specifically to the special needs market. Collin Thaver of Southern Africa 360 said the demand has always been there, but the company saw an opportunity to identify the right service providers and locations for vacation packages.

According to Craig Beal, owner of TravelBeyond, one of the biggest reasons why more people with disabilities consider Africa is that many people who once had unfounded fears of Africa now have many friends and family members who have been on safari. “They now consider what was once impossible to be possible,” he said.

Beal said he received two inquiries this year for mobility-impaired travel. “I currently have a client traveling in Tanzania and Kenya with a walker and cane. I am working on a trip for August 2019 for a client with a lightweight scooter. Both clients had initial concerns about getting in and out of safari vehicles and also when/how to urinate while out watching the animals on the Land Rover/Land Cruiser.”

Also, Currie said that there are still important obstacles to consider for people with disabilities on safari as many limitations still exist. She acknowledged it can be difficult for people to get in and out of Land Rovers, for example, but she pointed out that the guide is there to help ensure this is easily managed.

Currie added: “Access to medical care can also be more limited, so plans must be made for the unexpected.  And there are several flights as a rule with smaller planes, which are particularly difficult for those with disabilities.  But the outcome is well worth all the effort.”

However, Holden insisted that Africa in fact poses very few challenges for people with disabilities, as everyone in the safari business is eager and willing to make access easy for everyone. Holden cited an example of a client on a gorilla-tracking expedition in Rwanda who had to be carried by stretcher to see the gorillas. Holden said: “The stretcher-bearers cheerfully carried the client, singing and laughing all the way! At no time did the client feel a burden or different to any other client on safari. People in Africa have such a wonderful attitude to life, encapsulated in that well-known Afrikaans phrase, “n boer maak n plan” or more commonly in English, “Where there’s a will, there’s a way!”

The most important advice to travel agents booking trips for clients with disabilities is to get a full description and understanding of the person’s disability, according to Holden. He said:  “These are often sensitive and personal questions that agents are reluctant to ask their clients, but it is important that the safari operator properly understands the full extent of the client’s disability, so as to provide the necessary amenities.”

In addition, Holden said safari operators need to know about medications and dietary requirements for all clients but especially those with disabilities. He added: “And as obvious as it may seem, travel insurance is vital, as this will include emergency evacuation and adequate medical coverage.”

Beal advised travel agents to ask their tour operator very specific questions about the number of steps into and within safari tents/suites, the distance from common areas to the tent/suite and the vehicles in use. He said: “The client also wants to know if the paths around the lodge are level, planked, stone, grass, sand etc.  The client should be aware of the walking surfaces.”

Thaver also suggested travel agents look beyond the safari experience when considering Africa. He said: “The biggest misconception is that Africa, as a whole, only has safaris to offer guests. This is a shame because, like other popular travel destinations, the region is multifaceted and thus able to cater to a wide variety of interests and budgets.”

Although travel to Africa has become a lot more accessible, still more can be done. Beal explained he would like to see the upscale lodges throughout Africa have at least one room or tent with the type of amenities a hotel in the U.S. has that can accommodate guests with disabilities. Having at least one safari vehicle per camp that can accommodate mobility-impaired guests would be good.

Despite any possible obstacles, tour operators agreed that Africa is a wonderful destination for everyone.

Frank Louw, general manager at the Singita Serengeti House, said: “Everyone should be able to experience life equally, and if you can make that happen for all then that is wonderful. It is becoming easier for people to travel with disabilities. Infrastructure in Africa has come a long way, and guests know that they can get from A to B much easier than before.”

Currie agreed and pointed out that the beauty of a safari experience is also part of its limitation. She said: “It is not an easy destination for those with disabilities; however, the end result is usually so worth the effort, we should encourage people with disabilities to go. It is our responsibility to have answers for those  clients by working in close conjunction with our suppliers, hoteliers and guides.”

Holden added: “Safari is such a relaxing and refreshing activity for everyone that more safari promotions need to include references to people with disabilities and explain how most safari activities are accessible to clients with disabilities. The best tonic for anyone is to breathe in the pure, intoxicating African air while sitting quietly watching Africa’s wildlife go about its daily ritual.”

We are a leading safari tour operator that provides world-class guided group tours and tailor-made packages throughout Southern Africa, East Africa, and Madagascar, ensuring unique wildlife experiences.

Build Your Trip

With the power to specify your travel dates, the number of travelers in your party, and your preferred destinations, we’ve made it incredibly convenient for our travel consultants to curate the perfect expedition for you.

Chilo Gorge Safari Lodge, Gonarezhou, Zimbabwe

ZIMBABWE Record Breaking Drought

There’s an air of rejoicing in the African Luxury Hideaways offices today. The clouds are enveloping the Zimbabwean skies and the glimpses of rain bring jolts of excitement to all of us as they are signs of what’s to come. Most people are saddened by

Travel Africa

Pack Your Suitcase and Change a Life

JENMAN African Safaris is all about sustainable and responsible travel. Recently, we launched our Grow Africa initiative Pack for a Purpose. What is Grow Africa? Grow Africa is the responsible tourism initiative started by Jenman African Safaris and African Luxury Hideaways. The main focus is

Travel Journal

African Cities for your Bucket List

Africa offers a wide array of options for adventure within its wild terrain as well as its city landscapes. From cosmopolitan to cultural, street markets to up market waterfronts, Africa has it all! As specialists we have selected three of our favourite fun-filled African cities for

Tafika Camp - South Luangwa - Zambia

Zambia’s Safari Regions

In the heart of Southern Africa lies Zambia, a country brimming with natural beauty and biodiversity. Zambia offers a safari experience unlike any other, so let’s explore some of Zambia’s safari regions. Exploring these safari regions offers unique opportunities to see Africa’s most wildlife up-close

Need Help?

Get in touch with our experienced consultants, dedicated to curating your ideal African safari. Let us guide you towards the perfect destination, ensuring your trip is nothing short of extraordinary.

JENMAN African Safaris

Stay Connected